Page images
PDF
EPUB

Section 28. That Section 86, Chapter 83, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, be amended and re-enacted to read as follows:

Use of Net or Seine for Catching Fish.

"Section 86. It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to take the fish of this State from the waters of this State by the use or means of any seine or net of any kind or nature whatever without having first procured a permit to do so as provided in this Seciton.

Any person who is a bona fide elector of the State of Wyoming and who is a person of good moral character may, in the discretion of the State Game and Fish Commissioner, and upon the payment of the sum of five dollars ($5.00) to said Game and Fish Commissioner receive a permit to seine which said permit shall allow the holder thereof to take such fish of this State from the waters of this State, by the use of such seines or nets as the said Commissioner may designate and to take the said fish from only such waters of this State and during such period of time as the said Commissioner may deem proper.

Said permit as provided for herein, shall state the name of holder thereof, his place of residence and shall also recite the kind of seine or net to be used; the kind of fish in the particular waters from which said fish may be taken and the period of time during which said seine or net shall be used by the holder of said permit. Provided, that no person shall seine any of the streams of this State except in the presence of a Fish and Game Commissioner.

Provided, that the State Game and Fish Commissioner or his assistants or deputies, in the discretion of said Commissioner, may take such fish from the waters of this State by the use of seines or nets, at such time as said Commissioner may deem proper.

Any person or persons convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of this Section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00) or more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six months or by both such fine and imprisonment in the discretion of the Court."

Section 29. That Section 87, Chapter 83, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, be amended and re-enacted to read as follows:

Guides-Qualifications-Permit-Bond.

"Section 87. It shall be unlawful for any person to be engaged in the business of guiding, as the term is commonly understood, for any consideration or compensation whatever without having first secured a guide certificate from the State Game and Fish Commsisioner. It shall be unlawful for any State Game and Fish Commissioner to engage in the business of guiding for hire or compensation within the meaning of this Section.

Any competent person of good moral character, who is a bona fide citizen and qualified elector of this State, may, in the discretion of the State Game and Fish Commissioner and upon the payment of the sum of Twenty-five dollars ($25.00) to said Commissioner, receive a guide certificate, which certificate shall be valid for a term of one year from the date of issue, unless sooner revoked, and shall state the name, age and place of residence of the holder of same and that the holder of same is a person of good moral character, a bona fide resident and qualified elector of this State. Provided, that no guide certificate shall be issued by any officer or person other than the State Game and Fish Commissioner, or his deputies and that before a guide certificate be issued to any applicant, such applicant shall present to

the said Commissioner his affidavit and the affidavits of two resident free-holders of this State corroborating the applicant's affidavit that he, the said applicant, is a person of good moral character, a bona fide citizen and qualified elector of this State.

All guides shall be required to furnish the State Game and Fish Commissioner a sworn report not later than December 1st of each year, which said report shall contain the names and addresses, including the street address of persons guided, compensation received therefor, the number and kind of animals killed by such person or persons so guided, the disposition of the animals so killed and the number of arrests and convictions made by such guide.

Before entering upon the business of guiding each guide shall execute a bond to the State of Wyoming in the sum of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) conditioned upon the faithful performance of his duties, which bond shall be filed in the office and approved by the State Game and Fish Commissioner.

Every guide, as herein provided, shall be an ex-officio assistant Game and Fish Commissioner and shall immediately file his oath of office with the State Game and Fish Commissioner, upon receiving his guide certificate, and shall also immediately report to the said Commissioner any violation of the Game, Bird or Fish laws of this State by the person or persons employing them or by any other person. Every guide who, as an ex-officio assistant Game and Fish Commissioner, makes an arrest and secures a conviction of any violator of any of the game, bird or fish laws of this State, shall be entitled to receive four dollars ($4.00) per day for each necessarily employed in making such arrest and securing said conviction, payable from the general fund of the State upon a sworn account approved by the State Game and Fish Commissioner and the State Game and Fish Commission.

The State Game and Fish Commissioner may revoke the certificate of any guide at any time, and such guides whose certificates are revoked shall be ineligible to act as a guide in this State for a period of five years from the date of such revocation.

Any person convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of this Section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) or more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than thirty days or more than six months or by both fine and imprisonment in the discretion of the Court."

Section 30. That Section 90, Chapter 83, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, be amended and re-enacted to read as follows:

Size of Fire Arms.

"Section 90. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt, shoot or kill any of the game animals of this State with any rifle or firearm, which discharges a projectile, the diameter of which projectile is less than twenty-three one-hundredths of an inch. Provided, that it shall be unlawful to hunt, pursue or kill any of the big game of this State except with a soft point bullet.

Any person convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of this Section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty dollars ($50.00) or more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than thirty days or more than six months or by both such fine and imprisonment in the discretion of the Court."

Section 31. That Section 93, Chapter 83, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, be amended and re-enacted to read as follows:

Fishing Tackle.

"Section 93. A fishing tackle consisting of a rod or pole to be held in the hand, line and hook or hooks shall be the only lawful means by which fish may be taken from the waters of this State except as otherwise provided by law. The said hook shall not be baited with any poisonous substance or with any substance that will injure, kill or destroy the game fish of this State. Provided further that it shall be deemed prima facie evidence of guilt for any person not a citizen of the United States to be found along or near the streams of this State in possession of fishing tackle, if such person be not the legal holder of a fish license issued by the proper authorities of this State, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to the penalty provided in this Section.

Any person convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of this Section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) or more than one hundred dollars ($100.00).'

Section 32. That Section 3, Chapter 83, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, be hereby amended and re-enacted to read as follows: Game and Fish Commission--Appointment-Terms.

"Section 3. The Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint competent citizens of this State to be and to act as a Board of Game and Fish Commissioners, which said board shall consist of three known democrats and three known republicans, selected from different sections of the State of Wyoming, not later than sixty days from and after the date of the approval of this Act, the Governor hereinbefore provided, shall appoint two members of said board, whose terms shall be for a period of six years, from and after the date of their appointment, and two members of said board whose terms shall be for a period of four years, from and after the date of their appointment, and two members of said board, whose terms shall be for a period of two years, from and after the date of their appointment, and thereafter such appointments of said members of said board shall be for terms of six years, as the above terms shall expire. Provided further that the terms of office of the first two members of said board, as hereinbefore provided, shall expire on December 31, 1931. The next two members, as hereinbefore provided, terms of office shall expire on December 31, 1929, and the next two members of said board, as hereinbefore provided, terms of office shall expire December 31, 1927, or until their successors are appointed and qualified. After the expiration of the terms of the first appointees the terms of office shall be for a period of six years as hereinbefore provided. Members of the said board shall execute and file with the Secretary of State, the oath of office as prescribed by the Constitution of the State of Wyoming. The said Board of Game and Fish Commissioners shall receive no compensation for their services, but they will be reimbursed for all necessary expenses incurred in connection with their official duties. Upon the death, resignation or removal from office of any person, so appointed, as aforesaid, the Governor shall appoint a competent person, of the same political faith as the person in that position when the vacancy occurred, to serve for the unexpired term, or to fill said vacancy. The Board shall have an office in the State Capitol and shall hold meetings at such office on

the first Tuesday in January and July of each year, after the approval of this Act, and at such other times and places within the State as the Board shall find necessary for the proper transaction of its business. At the first meeting held by said Board, after its appointment as provided herein, and on the first meeting in January of each and every year thereafter, the Board shall elect one of its members as President, and one of its members as Vice-President, and such officers shall hold their respective offices for a period of one year.

It is within the jurisdiction of the said Board to declare an open and close season on the game birds and game animals in any part or parts of the State of Wyoming whenever it shall be deemed necessary for the protection of the same."

Section 33. This Act shall take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved February 26, 1925.

CHAPTER 138.

Original House Bill No. 152.

LICENSING OF CREAM STATIONS.

AN ACT providing for the licensing of cream stations, and providing for the enforcement of this Act by the Dairy, Food and Oil Division of the Department of Agriculture.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:

Section 1. Any person, firm or corporation who shall operate a buying or collecting station where milk or cream is bought or collected, for the purpose of shipment, or to be sold or transported to any creamery or any other manufacturing plant outside of the State of Wyoming, shall first secure a license from the Dairy, Food and Oil Division to operate such a station; such license shall be valid for one year after its issuance and shall not be transferable. The fee for such license shall be ten ($10.00) dollars and shall be paid to the Chief of the Dairy, Food and Oil Division before such license shall be issued. Such fees accruing to the Dairy, Food and Oil Division shall be covered into a fund to be used by the Agricultural Department in carrying out the duties prescribed for the Dairy Inspector.

The Chief of the Dairy, Food and Oil Division shall make, promulgate and enforce such rules and regulations as he may deem necessary for the conducting of cream stations in a satisfactory manner. Failure of any person, firm or corporation to comply with this act or the rules and regulations thereunder will constitute grounds for revoking license.

Section 2. All Acts or parts of Acts in conflict with the above Act are hereby repealed.

Section 3.

This Act shall take effect and be in force from and after April 1, 1925.

Approved February 26, 1925.

CHAPTER 139.

Original House Bill No. 123.

MOTOR VEHICLES.

AN ACT to amend and re-enact Sections 4, 9 and 11, Chapter 69, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, relating to the registration and regulation of motor vehicles.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:

Section 1. Section 4, Chapter 69, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1921, is hereby amended and re-enacted to read as follows:

Section 4. The fees for registration of motor vehicles shall be as follows: For passenger cars of not more than twenty-two horsepower, eight dollars ($8.00); for passenger cars of more than twentytwo horsepower and not more than thirty horsepower, twelve dollars ($12.00); for passenger cars of more than thirty horsepower and not more than forty horsepower, sixteen dollars ($16.00); for passenger cars of more than forty horsepower, twenty dollars ($20.00); provided that the above registration fees shall apply only to passenger cars with a seating capacity of not to exceed seven passengers; for passenger cars having a seating capacity in excess of seven, the same fees on rated horsepower shall be paid, with an additional fee of $1.00 for each passenger seating capacity in excess of seven; for trucks of a rated capacity of not more than one-half ton, the same fees as above provided for the registration of passenger cars of equal horsepower; for trucks of a rated capacity of more than one-half ton and not more than one ton, fifteen dollars ($15.00); for trucks of a rated capacity of more than one ton and not more than two tons, thirty dollars ($30.00); for trucks, the drive wheels of which are equipped with pneumatic tires, of a rated capacity of more than two tons and not more than three tons, fifty dollars ($50.00); for trucks the drive wheels of which are equipped with pneumatic tires, of a rated ca pacity of more than three tons and not more than four tons, seventyfive dollars ($75.00); for trucks, the drive wheels of which are equipped with pneumatic tires, of a rated capacity of more than four tons and not more than five tons, one hundred dollars ($100.00); for trucks the drive wheels of which are equipped with pneumatic tires, of a rated capacity of more than five tons, one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00); provided that fees for registration of trucks of more than two tons capacity, the drive wheels of which are equipped with tires other than pneumatic shall be in advance of fees herein specified by an amount of ten dollars ($10.00); provided, further, that it shall be unlawful to operate any motor vehicle upon the public highways of this State, the total weight of which, including load, shall exceed twenty-five thousand pounds, without first having secured a permit from the State Highway Department; Provided, further, that such permit shall not be issued by said department if the superintendent thereof shall decide that such load is unsafe for the public highways. It shall be unlawful for any person to drive or cause to be driven on or across any bridge, any motor vehicle, tractor, road roller or other vehicle or train of vehicles the load or combined loads of which exceed in weight the safe capacity of such bridge as is indicated by sign, placard, plate or otherwise. The fee for the registration of a motorcycle shall be five dollars ($5.00). For dealers or manufac

« PreviousContinue »